greasemonkey userscript issue

It took a lot of googling, but I finally figured out why some of my greasemonkey scripts weren’t respecting the @include directives I had in my UserScript section.

Greasemonkey doesn’t like leading spaces in the UserScript section. So watch for tabbed formatting and the like, and keep your directives flush left. Like so:

// ==UserScript==
// @name             My Script
// @description      A greasemonkey script I wrote
// @include          http://www.domain.com/*
// @grant            none
// ==/UserScript==
script code goes here....

As you can see, it’s okay to use formatting after the double slashes.

But don’t do this!

// ==UserScript==
   // @name         My Script
// ==/UserScript==

Hope this helps someone else!

Leave a Reply

