Negative Margins and IE (prior to version 8)

I haven’t written a post in awhile. But I just came across one of those bugs that kept me poking around the internet and ultimately coming up with some magic combination of styles that happens when you get desperate and start just saying “maybe this will work.” I finally came across the combination that did.

And I always have to document this stuff because 3 months down the road when I bump into it again I have NO idea what I did to fix it.

So, here’s the issue. With negative left and right margins and no width on an element, you can stretch the width of an element. I find this comes in handy when I want to put padding on a div, but there is an occasional element that needs to stretch to the edges of that div. And so I came across a need to stretch an element. Did this:


.myStretchedElement{
margin:0 -10px;
padding:0 10px;
border:1px solid gray
}

The reason I used padding that mirrored the negative margin was that I still wanted the text indented, I just wanted the border to stretch to the edges of the parent div. But you probably already got that.

It looked so beautiful. Until I opened it up in IE6. Well, no surprise there. And then I opened it up in IE7. Broken. Wah? This is the browser that’s supposed to be better. IE8, et tu? Nope, actually, IE8 got it right. There is hope for the future!

I started poking around the web. Found some good articles on this stuff which I’ll actually paste into the bottom of this post. Tried everything they said. Found something about sometimes display:inline will fix IE bugs. We don’t know why, the article said, it just does. I had already tried display:inline-block which also fixes a lot of things but that hadn’t worked. So I tried the display:inline. It actually fixed the indent! However, my border now only stretched the width of the text. Okay, what if I add width:100%, I thought? It might not work because I’m stretching beyond the 100%. But it was worth a shot. And it was the magic combination. I did wind up qualifying it to only IE6 and IE7 using the technique of assigning a class to the body tag via conditional comments that I then use to qualify the styles. I like that technique because it keeps the hacks in the same stylesheet as the rest of the styles.

So, again, here is the fix:

.ie6 .myStretchedElement, .ie7 .myStretchedElement{
display:inline;
width:100%
}

It also works for right-to-left display.

Here are those links I promised:

  1. The Definitive Guide to Using Negative Margins (Smashing Magazine)
  2. CSS Float Theory: Things You Should Know (Smashing Magazine)
  3. The Positive Side of Negative Margins
Leave a Reply

